Percy House gallery opened in May 2002. It
is situated in a historic 14th century building which had been hidden
from public view for over two decades.
With its unique features which include the famous Tudor ceiling,
fire places and plaster work, it is the ideal setting for the unusual
arts and crafts on display. The gallery hosts a large selection
of work by Cumbrian and British artists ranging from jewellery and
textiles to ceramics, paintings and photographs.
The downstairs gallery consists of four rooms each with its unique
character. The oak beams have been dated to 1390 and the original
flagstone floor still remains.
The upstairs, with its Tudor ceiling dated 1598, was the home of
the Percy baliff. It is divided into three rooms.
Including new paintings by Alan Richmond, Tessa Kennedy, Peter Dworok,
Ruby Keller and Ron Ablewhite.
Between exhibitions we have mixed displays of paintings, textiles